Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Review from French metal magazine, "Metal Federation"

NAME - Internet Killed the audiostar
Released: April 19, 2010
Style: Mathcore, Hardcore epileptic
Label: Lifeforcerecords


01. Killer Whales, Man
02. My Sweetheart, The Whore
03. The Spark Of Divinity
04. Homage To The Hunter
05. Bee Bee
06. Your Sun Machine, Your Space Embracer
07. How To Murder The Earth
08. Pond
09. The sycophant, The Saint, And The Gamefox
10. Dave Mustaine
11. Swallow The Ocean
12. You'll Never Die In This Town Again
13. Charm

New Approach to Martyrs Expressions, this is what the NAME means, we understand why the group has cut everything. Note that this combo is an American trio recently signed to Lifeforce Records, who released they're new album in Europe two months after released in the United States.

Founded in 2003 by brothers Wes and Jeremy Fareas, NAME is an amalgam of Mathcore, Hardcore, Grindcore, Jazz and Electro, just that you say?? As you can imagine, the music of the combo is absolutely impossible to categorize. However, I will help you so you understand what is driving NAME. You take a bit of Dillinger Escape Plan, you sprinkle Converge, add a touch of Napalm Death, a strand of Between The Buried and Me and you give birth to New Approach to Martyrs Expressions. Let me tell you that this training is unique and distant from all preconceived ideas. The main strength that gives off this album is the incredible power of the compositions, it never stops, and it surprises us, continually changing pace where we do not expect it at all. A tribute to singer / guitarist who is very strong. He managed to evolve in a variety of voices within a song while maintaining incredible vigor.
Attending a live performance of the combo should be a sacred experience that should not be totally free. Also, be aware that the pieces usually last between five and seven minutes which is huge for a group of such intensity. Imagine that same title exceeds ten minutes. Fortunately for musicians, there are long passages almost prog that give them a needed relief. The album in its entirety encompasses thirteen tracks for seventy-seven minutes of music, which is very rare nowadays. But as I said previously, NAME is the opposite of what you can expect.
It must however admit that the cake as it is not apprehended as quickly as a disk Alizée. The effort could probably be hurting you during the first few minutes of listening, but you know, without doubt, you will appreciate this album shortly after.

For a true first album, Internet Killed the Audiostar wins the challenge with flying colors. Extravagant, stamped, but especially passionate and unpredictable, NAME deserves interest in them!

A stream priority: "The Sycophant, The Saint, And The Gamefox"

My rating: 18/20


No comments: